Skip to main content
Jamf Nation, hosted by Jamf, is the largest Apple IT management community in the world. Dialog with your fellow IT professionals, gain insight about Apple device deployments, share best practices and bounce ideas off each other. Join the conversation.

Managing PreStage Imaging and Autorun Imaging Workflows

Overview

Starting in Jamf Pro v9.101.0 or later, a Jamf Pro user account with the "Jamf Imaging - Use PreStage Imaging and Autorun Imaging" privilege is required for PreStage imaging and Autorun imaging.

For more information on the permissions required for imaging computers, see the following Knowledge Base article:
Imaging Computer Permission Requirements

Note

If the Require login for PreStage Imaging and AutoRun Imaging security setting is disabled, Jamf Pro will check daily to determine if it can be re-enabled, and automatically enable the setting if the following conditions are met:

  1. There are no active PreStage Imaging configurations
  2. There are no computers with autorun data that have both admin credentials and are set to image automatically

Products Affected

Jamf Pro v9.101.0 or later

Additional Information

For more information PreStage imaging and Autorun imaging, see the Jamf Pro Administrator's Guide.

For more information on Jamf Pro user accounts, see the Jamf Pro Administrator's Guide.

Like Comment
SOLVED Posted: 9/21/17 at 6:30 PM by RobertHammen

The above verbiage is NOT helpful.

I think what you're trying to say here is "in v9.101.0 or later, if you configured AutoRun or Prestage for a Mac, whereas before Casper Imaging would load without prompting you for JSS credentials, for security reasons it now will prompt you every time Casper Imaging is opened"...

(And, BTW, the link embedded in 9.101 directs one to https://www.jamf.com/jamf-nation/admin/articles/469
, when the actual link is https://www.jamf.com/jamf-nation/articles/469/
- you may want to do a redirect if you can).

Like
SOLVED Posted: 9/27/17 at 11:30 AM by jmahlman

So, are we not able to do unattended netboot/autorun anymore? This is not a good thing.

Nevermind, I figured out how to disable it JSS Settings -> Computer Settings -> Security -> Require login for PreStage imaging and Autorun imaging

This was really frustrating and the docs need to be updated to explain it better.

Like
SOLVED Posted: 9/27/17 at 2:16 PM by jmahlman

FYI, the links above also go to 9.100, not 9.101 docs. I cannot seem to find anything in the 9.101 docs about this.

Like
SOLVED Posted: 9/28/17 at 9:18 AM by CasperSally

agree the KB should be modified to mention what @RobertHammen and @jmahlman posted above. If I didn't read the comments, I wouldn't know the "Require login for PreStage imaging and Autorun imaging" checkbox was available. I had carefully read the release notes and even this references article, but I had missed the comments initially.

Like
SOLVED Posted: 10/2/17 at 4:16 AM by neil.martin83

This caught me out just now as well as we updated to 9.101 - There was a bit of a brown trowser moment when a test machine didn't log in to autorun. Thanks to the comments above it was quickly sorted out. :-)

Like
SOLVED Posted: 10/19/17 at 10:01 AM by jmahlman

Be careful, if you uncheck the setting in the Security pane it will try to re-check it every day if we meet the following conditions:
- There are no active PreStage imaging configurations (NOTE...we need to stop ignoring activation and expiration dates)
- There are no computers with autorun data that have both admin credentials and are set to image automatically.

As long as we don't meet these conditions, the checkbox won't re-check itself.

When the "Require login for PreStage Imaging" security setting is disabled, the JSS checks daily to see if it can be re-enabled and automatically enable it again if the above conditions are met.

This was told to me by Jamf support. Not really happy about this at all, I don't want my settings to change automatically, especially one that will basically cause my autorun to stop working.

I get that this is for "security" but the whole point of autorun is to just run automatically, require no user intervention.

Also, your links STILL point to 9.100.

Like
SOLVED Posted: 10/20/17 at 11:33 AM by casper_ghost

The correct location for disabling this is:

Computer Management > Security

Like
SOLVED Posted: 11/3/17 at 10:53 AM by jmahlman

Thank you for finally updating the documentation.

Like