[OT] Need help with removing MCXs installed by Munki.

rseide
Contributor

Hi,

I just started a new job about a month ago and the previous tech had a handful of Macs managed by Munki. I have no experience with Munki at all, so forgive my ignorance. Unfortunately, he did not leave any documentation behind.

The problem I am having is that these Macs that have been managed by Munki have a bunch of preference panes in System Preferences grayed out. I cannot seem to undo this permanently.

Here's what I've tried that has not worked:
- following the steps here to uninstall Munki: https://code.google.com/p/munki/wiki/RemovingMunki
- how to flush MXC cache settings (but the Macs I manage run 10.8 or 10.9 however I still tried this with no luck) - http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3540

The closest I've gotten to removing these MCXs was deleting the /Library/Managed Preferences folder. That worked until I rebooted than all those settings came back.

If I remember correctly, Munki doesn't manage Macs like Casper meaning I don't think there's a server somewhere that is pushing these down. Am I correct?

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

rseide
Contributor

@gregneagle - It's definitely not Configuration Profiles. Looking at System Profiler/Managed Client, there is a Source: creative_policy (Computer Group).

The locations of the where the local MCXs are stored that you listed helped push me in the right direction.

I got this to work. Here's what I did:
- going by what System Profiler indicated as the source of the MCXs, I did a sudo ls -lah /private/var/db/dslocal/nodes/MCX and saw ComputerGroups in there. - I then did sudo ls -lah /private/var/db/dslocal/nodes/MCX/ComputerGroups and saw several plist files. One of them was creative_policy.plist
- I removed the plist file
- I removed /Library/Managed Preferences
- Rebooted the computer and the changes stuck!

Thanks for your info. It helped me, as you can see.