ACTIVE DIRECTORY INTEGRATION & USER PASSWORD MANAGEMENT

bigdaddybesbris
New Contributor

Hello all!

I am new to JAMF and Casper, and I'd like a little more information on the following: After integrating LDAP and connecting Casper to Active Directory, how are password changes handled? We are a mixed PC and Mac environment, with Macs being bound to AD.

Currently any time a Mac user wants to change their network password, they must be hardwired. The same is true whenever a new user wants to log into a Mac for the first time, the Mac will not authenticate unless hardwired.

This causes a lot of issues, especially when a user has a Mac and a PC. I have consulted the Casper manual, but do not fully comprehend what I am reading, this is all very new to me.

We (the IT department that I am apart of) were looking to implement Open Directory and create a "magic triangle" but Casper support informed me that all of the above can be managed via Casper.

This (unanswered) thread is most like my problem: https://jamfnation.jamfsoftware.com/discussion.html?id=304

This thread indicates that we do not need Open Directory: https://jamfnation.jamfsoftware.com/discussion.html?id=12824

Below is part of my chat with Support:

Jay: Hi, my name is Jay with JAMF Software. How may I be of assistance?
Me: Hey Jay, how are you today?
Jay: Other than -25 windchill? Just peachy! :)
Jay: How are you doing?
Me: That sounds absolutely terrible!
Jay: It has gotta get better!
Me: I am well, a little confused! Perhaps you could help.
Jay: Happy to
Me: Appreciated.
Me: We have a mixed PC/Mac environment, and are currently only using Active Directory to manage these machines.
Jay: Like it so far..