OT: Local standard accounts can't login after binding to AD

cwaldrip
Valued Contributor

I'm new to AD on the Mac, so maybe I'm missing something.

Local standard (ie non-admin) accounts can't seem to log into a machine after it has been bound to the domain. It doesn't matter how I bind the machine either - Casper or manually using Directory Utility.

The standard account works fine before I bind the machine. But after I bind the machine the user can't log in. If I remove the machine from the domain I still can't log in with the standard account.

Local admin accounts work. And I can su to a local standard user account.

I've checked Directory Utility and the search policy order is set with /local/default as the top option (can't change that I don't think).

Am I just missing something about local standard user accounts on machines bound to AD?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

cwaldrip
Valued Contributor

And the answer is...
"Local-only users may log in" was not selected.

Which makes sense I guess. Without being checked admin users can still log in, which confused the issue. I was thinking that this would disallow network users from logging in - reading it as 'only allow local users to log in'.

Ta-dah! Grumble grumble grumble stupid admin.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

bentoms
Release Candidate Programs Tester

@cwaldrip is the local user accounts short/user name the same as an AD account?

davidacland
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

Joining AD on a Mac shouldn't stop this from working. It just gives the Mac an additional source of users to check against when you enter a name and password at the login window.