Binding OS X to AD

jmcconathy
New Contributor III

I am new to JAMF and will be attending training soon, but I want to get a head start on getting setup on the Casper suite. I have read through a lot of documentation and forums, but there are still a few things puzzling me.

First I have this issue, I created a Configuration Profile to bind my computers to AD, which appears to work fine, except the 'Namespace' option that I configured is not being applied to my machines. I can manually change the Namespace on my clients manually with a dsconfigad call, but I don't think I should have to.

My second issues comes from troubleshooting that issue, I cannot find any logs that provide any useful information as to why my profile is applying all but that one setting. The impression I get from forums is that Casper does not currently have very good client logging capability. Is this accurate?

Finally, from this issue, I am curious if people are more using Policies, to bind their clients, or Profiles?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

davidacland
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

We looked at using a configuration profile recently (its quite a new feature), but reports were that it wasn't 100% reliable.

We normally use the built-in directory binding available in the JSS (Settings > Computer Management > Directory Bindings). We like to use this feature so we don't have to leave an AD admin password in a script.

We then use a script to configure a few extra settings with dsconfigad that aren't in the GUI like passinterval.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

Look
Valued Contributor III

We use a script, but to be honest thats most likely because we already had it and it still works.
As they say "If it aint broke..."

gachowski
Valued Contributor II

I would guess that you are on the cutting edge, using a Config Profile to bind to AD... I am going to look in to that for our X.10.11 "build"...