Learn MCX and Configuration Profile

tak10
Contributor II

I'm fairly new to the Mac OS X world and want to learn more about custom configuration using MCX and Configuration Profile. Do anyone recommend any resources to learn from the basics so that I'm not always using templates that someone built. I would like to be able to learn it and customize it to my flavor.

7 REPLIES 7

bpavlov
Honored Contributor

There is this book that covers MCX: http://www.amazon.com/Enterprise-Managed-Preferences-Edward-Marczak/dp/1430229373

The authors are quite active in the Mac community and many people still reference this book even though Apple is slowly moving away from MCX toward Configuration Profiles.

At the end of the day, all you're doing is managing preferences. https://github.com/timsutton/mcxToProfile is a pretty good tool for making custom profiles. Casper also has the option of making profiles out of PLIST files. Create a new config profile, go to the custom payload, and upload the PLIST with the preferences you wish to manage.

Ultimately if you're making your own custom profiles make sure that you are testing the particular preference you want. Don't just copy an entire PLIST as it may include more preferences than you want to manage. Most preferences will be located in ~/Library/Preferences, but occasionally some vendors make preferences that aren't in the .plist format so they can't be managed via MCX or Profiles. And then you have apps that are sandboxed which means profiles do not effect them as their settings are usually located under ~/Library/Containers/ or ~/Library/Group Containers/.

On a non-technical note, only manage preferences when there is a particular need. It's going to effect your clients and each client will work in different ways. Don't lock things down without a reason.

Chris
Valued Contributor