AD computername/JSS record comparision extension attribute

flojo10
New Contributor

Hello All,

This is probably a simple one, but I'm pretty new to bash scripting..
I created an EA to compare a computer's JSS record and AD to ensure there aren't any mismatches. This works properly when the names match and returns a mismatch if the dsconfigad commands returns something that doesn't matches. However, the problem is that if the machine isn't bound to AD, this still returns a match. I tried doing a null string test, but still NG...

#!/bin/bash
jssName=`jamf getComputerName | awk '{print tolower($0)}'`
adinfo=`dsconfigad -show | grep 'Computer Account' && dsconfigad -show | grep 'Active Directory Domain'`
computerName=`scutil --get ComputerName`
if [[ $adinfo = *"${jssname}"* ]]; 
then
echo "<result>JSS & AD records match.
JSS Record          = $computerName
$adinfo</result>"
elif [ -z $adinfo ]; 
then 
echo "<result>Not bound to AD...attempting to rebind. If this isn't auto-corrected in about 15 minutes, I'll need to be connected to the LAN to be fixed.</result>"
else
echo "<result>Mismatch.... help please!
JSS Record         = $jssName"
    if [ -z $adinfo ];
    then 
    echo "I'm not bound to AD either! This should be fixed shortly, though</result>"
    else
echo "$adinfo</result>"
    fi
fi

Just a little background on why this is needed -- we're using DEP to initially enroll Macs as their serial number, then manually renaming in the JSS later during initial setup. This then triggers a policy to unbind the computer, remove the dummy AD record and rebind it under our naming convention.

16 REPLIES 16

joshuasee
Contributor III

Hmm. I didn't test, but I'm noticing the single equals sign on line 5, the first if statement. Wouldn't that do an assignment rather than a comparison, which would succeed, thus always returning true?