lftp mirroring for distribution points replication

Eigger
Contributor III

Hi there jamfnationers! A few weeks ago, I discovered lftp, super awesome small utility. Pretty much like rsync in steroids. What I like the most about this utility is its ability to split files for faster transfer and continue interrupted file tranfers. I adopted some scripts from the internet to use it for my distributions points. I'm not really good at scripting, but I really like to learn more, because its fun!

lftp -u casper-rw -e "set sftp:connect-program 'ssh -a -x -T -o Compression=no'; mirror -v -c --delete --use-cache --loop --use-pget-n=5 -P 5 /Volumes/ServerHD/CasperAFPShare/Packages /Volumes/ServerHD/CasperAFPShare/Packages; quit" sftp://0.0.0.0:22.

lftp-u is the user name for the DP. connect using sftp, Compression no to save cpu resources, mirror -v (verbose) -c (continue interrupted) --delete (delete files thats not in the source) --use-cache (it uses local cache instead of scanning the remote server on the next session) --loop (keep mirroring until no more changes) --use-pget-n=5 (number of pieces to split the file) -P 5 (number of files to transfer in parallel) total of 25 TCP connections, Source then Target and finally the DP address and port.

Here's the original http://www.commandlinefu.com/commands/view/13759/fastest-segmented-parallel-sync-of-a-remote-directory-over-ssh

Here's from the man page
https://lftp.yar.ru/lftp-man.html