Minor issues after machine is imaged

Questline
New Contributor

Hello, I'm new to Casper and I'm running into a few problems after the machine is imaged. I'll layout my process and versions.

JSS and Casper Admin are running 9.93

1. Downloaded El Captian from App store 2.Dragged the download onto AutoDMG to create image 3.Launch AutoCasperNBI and selected the image AutoDMG created and selected Casper Imaging. 4.Launched Casper Admin incorporated the Image created from AutoCasperNBI into an existing Profile, re-compiled and saved.
  2. Turn on macBookPro holding Option down and selecting the appropriate Image
  3. Boots into Casper Imaging check the box to erase Hard Drive and Boot to Targeted Partition after, and local Admin account as well.

All of that goes fine the image process works however when I first login an error appears "A file operation for CoreTelephony tracing has failed, you may be out of disk space. Details 'Error opening file /tmp/ct.shutdown, err = Operation not permitted"

I can fix this issue by performing the command sudo chmod 1777 /tmp, but I'd rather eliminate that step and understand why I get that error, is there a step I missed to assign correct permissions? In step 6 I did try and use the fix permission button under advance, but that didn't resolve the issue.

The 2nd issue I have is Casper Imaging run on startup when a user logs in and prompts for admin credentials to make changes. Is there a need for Casper Imaging to run when a user logs in? I'm guessing it's incorporated into the startup process, but do I need it there once the machine is imaged and if I do is there a way to prevent it from asking for credentials?

Thanks in advance.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

bmarks
Contributor II

To me, unless it's a typo, it sounds like you are imaging your Macs by putting on them the image you created with AutoCasperNBI. You would want to put on them the image you created with AutoDMG.