Build and installation Schedule

LuckyWinner
New Contributor

Hi, everyone.

I've recently joined an ad agency where we finally are upgrading about 40 Mac Yosemite users and a few Windows users (but using SCCM; not Casper) from Adobe CS6 to Creative Cloud, using CCP for packaging and Casper for deployment.

This is my first time deploying software with Casper, and I'll be trained in a few weeks. I'm reading up in advance. All your insights have been very helpful in schooling me on future potential pitfalls and their workarounds, and I'm grateful for this strong community.

In the meantime, I'm wondering what your experiences have been with the logistics: how much time you allow (or are limited to in busy, rushed environments) for image builds, installation, user testing with pilot groups, revising builds based on user feedback, and redeploying. Any loose schedule time ranges are helpful because I'm under pressure to plan the rollout.

The installs are enterprise versions, including most applications except for video-editing software. Acrobat will be packaged separately.

Each build will have a companion build for another language (Italian) given some of our workers collaborate with an Italian partner; it's completed).

I'm considering these timeframes for installing during the night over a gigabyte network, anticipating some slowdowns with my own build issues or user preparedness compliance like forgetting to turn off CS6 app launch-at-start-up apps, forgetting to shut down, forgetting to quit CS6 software, etc

2 weeks for builds (since I'm a first-timer)
1 week for deployment as cached packages waiting for installation 1 week for testing with selected savvy users
1 week for revising packages after addressing user feedback about needing global adjustments to preferences, etc), and redeploying and installing