Paper cut and El Capitan

mconners
Valued Contributor

Hi Folks,

A quick concern that I have just run into. I see that Papercut 15.2 IS compatible with El Capitan. We are on version 15.1. A year or so ago I had downloaded a paper cut script to unpause the printers for Yosemite.

My bad as it didn't occur to me that this might be an issue with El Capitan.

Is anyone else using Papercut with El Capitan and do you have any pointers or guidance on this? School starts here in a week so I am a very nervous IT admin at the moment.

Thank you so much!!

9 REPLIES 9

bpavlov
Honored Contributor

What do you mean by using Papercut with El Capitan? Is that the Papercut server or do you mean with the Papercut client? Also are you talking about u pausing os x print queues on the server or the client? What script were you using in Yosemite that doesn't work in El Capitan?

And lastly the obvious, why not upgrade papercut to the latest version on both server and clients?

mconners
Valued Contributor

Good Morning @bpavlov. My understanding is, PaperClient client 15.1, which is what we have, isn't compatible with El Capitan. Supposedly it will pause printers when trying to print with it. However, I did get the latest version of 15, version 15.3. So I am going to test this in our current setup.

There was a script to un-pause printers for those that use PaperCut, looking back, it appears to have been written back in Dec. 2014 by Luis Fernando Palumbo de Oliveira and I found it on JAMF Nation. It worked great last year, but no so much this year in my testing. In fact, failures left and right while on El Capitan.

Moving to version 16 isn't possible as the team working on PaperCut in general doesn't exist and the sponsor on this project has decided to simply maintain what we have. So, I will be working with 15.3 and get this rolling for us.

Thanks again!!

millersc
Valued Contributor