How can I ensure that new and re-imaged computers end up in correct group on enrollment?

tkersting
New Contributor II

I am new to Casper and I'm looking for a way to automate the enrollment process so that a new computer or one that has been re-imaged will go into the correct computer group on enrollment. A few years ago with Workgroup Manager, we would scan the MAC addresses into a computer group prior to unboxing and imaging so that they all were named correctly and went into the correct computer group once enrolled. The MAC address placeholder also ensured that after a re-image, the computer would stay in the right group, with the right name. I don't see any way in Casper to create placeholder computer records and when I reimage a previously enrolled computer and re-enroll it, it does not end up in the group that it was in prior to imaging. Is there any way to automate this process or does someone have to go in and move newly enrolled devices into the correct computer group every time?

3 REPLIES 3

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Hi. Welcome to the Casper Suite and to the forums.

So, you can pre-create computer objects in the JSS that act as stub records until a machine comes along during enrollment that matches the stub records information, like MAC address, UUID, etc. Oddly enough it was easier back in a much older version of Casper Suite to create new computers than it is now. The only way to pre-create them that I'm aware of today is through the REST API, which means using scripts most likely. To pre-create them involves making sure you have all the correct pieces of data to enter with the script command or it won't make the new record. I can't say I'm 100% familiar with everything that needs to be input to make them, so maybe someone who's doing that can chime in to clarify the exact process. I'm pretty certain its more than just the MAC address that you need to do this.