Keystore not restored when upgrading from JSS 9.96 to 9.97 on Linux

fraserhess
New Contributor III

(I am relatively new to JSS, we haven't even completed our Jump Start yet!) I was upgrading from recently installed JSS 9.96 to 9.97 on Linux and after the upgrade I could not connect over https despite having the "Finished JSS Initialization" in the logs. My own troubleshooting revealed I could open a TCP connection to 8443 but I didn't get a certificate back. Peeking at the server.xml showed me the certificate keystore was to be at /usr/local/jss/tomcat/jss.p12 – that file didn't exist. Once I restored it from /usr/local/jss/backups/.... and restarted tomcat, I was able to connect to the JSS again.

Hope this helps someone else and this bug can get corrected.

11 REPLIES 11

grahamfw
New Contributor III

Yes, annoying. We had to manually plug in our values into DataBase.xml and server.xml. The tomcat directory looks to have been completely overwritten.

Good way to test your backup and recovery procedure, I suppose!

were_wulff
Valued Contributor II

Hey all,

We've got a KB out for this that may have been missed as the title has not been updated to include 9.x and only mentions 8.x.

Backing Up a Third-Party SSL Certificate Before Upgrading the JSS to v8.x on Linux.

This has been the behavior on and off for awhile, and we do have a product issue (PI-003358) open to have it addressed, and have our instructions include the steps of manually backing up the .p12 file and the keystore (which also sometimes doesn't get moved back) prior to running the installer for an upgrade to avoid this issue.

As @hessf mentioned, if you run into this, you can find the necessary files in /usr/local/jss/backups/ and just move them back and restart Tomcat.

@grahamfw This is a known issue; we have it filed under PI-002504.