Installing TrendMicro WFBS

mlitton
New Contributor II

I have followed the instructions from TrendMicro to install the TM package for mass deployment.

I made a package that places the .plist and a package that installs WFBS

I attempted to use Packages.app to merge them into one package and used a post flight script to make sure they installed in order.

I keep getting an installation failed error due to the script (FYI..I am really new to scripts and copy/pasted one from the internet so I could be doing it wrong)

Can anyone tell me where to look next?

ff12c4f44c9c4c169b2ee77d11edba98

7 REPLIES 7

KSchroeder
Contributor

I also struggled with a TrendMicro OfficeScan package that can be pushed. The console downloads give you multiple options (including a .mpkg file, which I didn't mess with), and a zip file. Their directions say to extract the zip and then run installer pointing to the .pkg (or rather, just "doubleclick" the pkg).
I think what we ended up having to do was extract the .zip into a folder, then make a DMG from that folder using Disk Utility. Then, have a policy which includes the .dmg, and a script that runs installer pointing to /Volumes/TrendInstall/whatever.pkg (depending on the name of the DMG). There is a .plist in there that has the server configuration settings and some other configuration that the .pkg looks to when it installs.

I sort of got it working, but it would never actually connect to the TM admin console server, even though it would show the correct host name in the GUI after install. Have to get back to it one of these days and figure it out; some of our clients are "stuck" on an older 2.x build and won't auto-update for some reason.

Aaron
Contributor II

This is literally all I do to deploy Trend, and it seems to work fine:

curl -s -k -o /tmp/tmsminstall.zip https://[server]/officescan/console/html/TMSM_HTML/ActiveUpdate/ClientInstall/tmsminstall.zip
unzip -o -qq /tmp/tmsminstall.zip -d /tmp