Run Script After Enrollment

nvandam
Contributor II

Using a DEP prestage enrollment, I'm trying to get the following script to kick off right after the user is at the desktop. If I scope a policy to trigger at "Enrollment Complete", the policy is being triggered for user "_mbsetupuser" and the JAMF Helper dialogue box opens up in the setup assistant rather than at the desktop. If I use "Login" as the trigger, the JAMF dialogue box opens at the desktop, but clicking "Log Out" doesn't cause the logout to occur.

EDIT: I should add that I've scoped the policy to Self Service and manually ran it. It works as expected that way.

I am a novice when it comes to scripting. The base script I'm using is something I found on JAMF Nation.

!/bin/bash

jamfHelper="/Library/Application Support/JAMF/bin/jamfHelper.app/Contents/MacOS/jamfHelper"
windowType="hud"
description="To begin FileVault disk encryption of your Mac, you will need to log out and log back in. Please save any work and click 'Log Out'. You will automatically be logged out in 5 minutes."

button1="Log Out"
button2="Cancel"

icon="/System/Library/CoreServices/CoreTypes.bundle/Contents/Resources/AlertNoteIcon.icns"
title="Configure FileVault Encryption"
alignDescription="justified" alignHeading="justified"
defaultButton="1"
timeout="300"

JAMF Helper window as it appears for targeted computers

userChoice=$("$jamfHelper" -windowType "$windowType" -lockHUD -title "$title" -timeout "$timeout" -defaultButton "$defaultButton" -icon "$icon" -description "$description" -alignDescription "$alignDescription" -alignHeading "$alignHeading" -button1 "$button1")

If user selects "Log Out"

if [ "$userChoice" == "0" ]; then sudo kill -9 pgrep loginwindow exit 0
fi

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

davidacland
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

It might be the syntax for logging out. Scripts from the JSS run as root so sudo shouldn't be needed.

You could also try

if [ "$userChoice" == "0" ]; then