Launchd plist erring with "127"

s_mcc
New Contributor II

I'm trying to inject a script and plist to our end users for running some updates. I've verified that the injection method for the plist works, and that the script works. However, when I upload this plist with the script, it constantly fails to run and reports an "127" error.

I'm relatively new to launchd for launching scripts, has anyone seen this error or is there a glaring issue with this plist I've missed?

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
    <key>Label</key>
    <string>com.redacted.delayscript</string>
    <key>ProgramArguments</key>
    <array>
        <string>/Users/Shared/.restartscript.sh</string>
    </array>
    <key>StartInterval</key>
    <integer>60</integer>
    <key>RunAtLoad</key>
    <true/>
</dict>
</plist>
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

OK, it's not what I was thinking it was, which is that the plist was being formed incorrectly when it was echoed into place. But you're doing it the right way, or at least one way that works correctly.

I did notice two other things though. For one, your script that the launchd is calling is using a jamf policy -event command, which must be run as root. But you're asking a LaunchAgent to run it, which can't run things as root. So right off, that isn't going to work.
You will need to create a LaunchDaemon in order to run a jamf policy command. Can't be done from a LaunchAgent since those run as the user and can't elevate to root privileges on their own.
Of course since LaunchDaemon's can run when no-one is logged in, that creates some complications you may need to overcome, such as designing the script to exit if it's sitting at the login window and run again later, each time checking to make sure a user is logged into the Mac.