In house tvOS app of a static image

niacobelli
New Contributor III

Hello,

We are trying to deploy 80 Gen4 Apple TV's and want to use single app mode to display our logo. Are there any resources or guides on how to develop an in house app that would display a white background with our logo in the middle?

I'm not an app developer so anything that I can read to help guide me to my goal would be fantastic.

Thank you,
Nicholas

21 REPLIES 21

mrben
New Contributor III

I would reconsider using Apple TVs for this and instead urge you to look at devices more like the Intel Compute Stick which can run purpose-driven signage software like Rise Vision.

niacobelli
New Contributor III

The apple tvs are used for airplay purposes. I just want to jazz it up a bit and use our company logo instead of the aerial screen saver and to keep the apple tvs locked and unable play around with settings and apps.

cdenesha
Valued Contributor II

Can you deploy the image as a background to Conference Room mode?

niacobelli
New Contributor III

It is possible @cdenesha . But ideally we don't want to login with an icloud account to set up photo sharing and then choose an image. We have about 80 apple tvs that we have deployed so going in and signing it would suck.

The aerial screen saver is fine as it looks pretty. I just wanted to add our company logo to make it look a bit more professional. I'm still researching making an app in xcode. If I figure it out I'll post it here.

eddieandrews
New Contributor

@niacobelli

Yes!

In fact, I did this for our church, which uses this Apple TVs for their media presentation, so that the "background image" is always displayed when it's not in use. I'd be happy to discuss code. (me@eddieandrews.com)

burkeyc
New Contributor

@niacobelli I am looking to do the same thing at my school district we have a handful of apple TVs that I would like to be able to show the district logo until someone air plays to it.

ega
Contributor III