Chrome may not be able to keep itself updated

llitz123
Contributor III

I have a similar issue to this yet decided to create a new post to hopefully get some assistance.
I'm new to provisioning Chrome and don't know the components. Keystone?
Basically I created a Composer snapshot on a machine that never had Chrome. I then packaged it with only the Google related settings/folders and I get the error Chrome may not be able to keep itself updated. When I try to manually change the setting on client testing machine after install, I get update errors.
I need help to get the Chrome may not be able to keep itself updated banner removed and allow Chrome to auto update for all users, and then provision latest Chrome to all JAMF clients with or without Chrome. I'm hoping to just change a setting file and push that file with the Chrome app.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

22 REPLIES 22

AmigoDeluxe
New Contributor III

Not sure if this will help but here goes. In Composer add a postinstall script to your .pkg with the following:

--------- BEGIN ---------

!/bin/sh

postinstall

pathToScript=$0
pathToPackage=$1
targetLocation=$2
targetVolume=$3

currentUser=ls -l /dev/console | awk '{ print $3 }'
chown -R $currentUser "/Applications/Google Chrome.app"

exit 0 ## Success
exit 1 ## Failure
--------- END ---------

Then package and redeploy. Let me know if it worked.

Asnyder
Contributor III

I use This and it works really well.

llitz123
Contributor III

Thanks for the replies.
@AmigoDeluxe the problem is my package is flawed, so I'll likely ditch it for now. I may try your solution yet after some testing I'm looking more for best practices in packaging Chrome.
I tested with @Asnyder 's suggestion and it works great yet users without Chrome get all the first run crap which I would like to avoid if possible. I don't want our users to switch browsers, etc.