Prestage Imagaging

ekirkels
New Contributor

Hi All,

I am quite new with Jamf Pro. So maybe i will ask a questions that already is been asked.

I am looking in our organisation for Imaging Macbooks with Jamf Pro. So if you open the box click on run and then he start with the process. do you need DEP for this or is this is working without DEP. Or do i need to buy the Casper suite?

7 REPLIES 7

tjhall
Contributor III

Best advice is to move away from imaging since Apple doesn't support it anymore.
I would suggets DEP for any new Mac's and go down the route of MDM management (like Jamf) where you can create automatic installs based on pre defined smartgroups.

ekirkels
New Contributor

Ah ok. i thought you can provide the automatic installes create with Jamf without the DEP program. or is that not the best practice?

tjhall
Contributor III

The Jamf client is required to be installed first on all non DEP Mac's.
Once that is done you can start creating policies and roll out configs.

Have you done the quickstart with Jamf already or are you looking into Jamf as an option? I suggest the 100 course, it's free and provides a lot of info on the basics of how to set it up and how it works.

https://www.jamf.com/training/100/

cwaldrip
Valued Contributor

It's not so much that imaging is dead, as it is vastly easier to let Apple install the OS. We let Apple put the OS on, and then we use Jamf Imaging to image-in-place.