Flash Player Background install freezes

seraphina
Contributor II

So I have been trying to update Flash on our lab machines through a policy and an installer package with a postinstall script, because I want it to perform silently without needing user interaction.

I have tried it through patch management with and without the postinstall script, but either way when logging into the machine the flash player updater icon pops up in the dock and then hangs. You can't logout of the machine unless you force close it too.

I have also tried it with PPAPI and NPAPI flash separately because I thought that might have been the problem.

I am new to JAMF and macOS but I have been using Linux based operating systems for almost 9 years, so I like to think I have a decent understanding of how these systems work

I know my script is probably bad, but here it is.

Take the adobe flash installers and make a flat package -> extract the 2 flash player installer's to /tmp -> postinstall

Would this work better if I left them as a DMG? Does Patch Management even work with a DMG?

#!/bin/bash
##postinstall

cd /tmp/Flash.app/Contents/MacOS
./Adobe Flash Player Install Manager -install  & #silent install
wait $PID #Is this why it hangs? Also, If I force close the installer at this point, it proceeds to the next package.
cd /tmp/Pepper_Flash.app/contents/MacOS
./Adobe Flash Player Install Manager -install &
wait $PID #this will always succeed, while the first one fails
rm -fr /tmp/Flash.app
rm -fr /tmp/Pepper_Flash.app

Lastly, how does a "Recurring Checkin" policy work when the computer is not logged in? Is that perhaps why the installer hangs, or does it halt the policy execution until a user logs in?

Thanks!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

dba_nc
New Contributor III