Automated Mac OSX Re-Install

MBrownUoG
Contributor

Hey folks.

So we re-image all of our lab machines here every summer, and until now that's been a manual process where the techs will visit each machine, format all partitions, install the latest version of OSX and then name the Mac correctly so it drops into the right groups in Jamf and pushes out software.

I'm still relatively new to Jamf, but I was wondering if it's an easy process to automate this whole sequence? I have the Jamf OSX Upgrade script (pulled from https://github.com/kc9wwh/macOSUpgrade/blob/master/macOSUpgrade.sh) set up for a self-service deployment of Mojave already, so I presume I can modify that fairly easily to do an erase-and-install deployment, then push it out via a one-time policy to each group of Macs we're targeting?

My questions then would be around maintaining the name of each Mac and also formatting any secondary partitions during this process, is there a simple way to achieve that?

Hopefully this is a basic question! And thanks again for all the resources and discussions here, it's been an incredibly valuable resources over the last few months.

4 REPLIES 4

cpresnall
Contributor

We do this with a two policy approach with a static group "To Be Imaged". This lets us image in bulk and isn't bothered by the T2 chips in the newer units.
One policy drops the Mojave installer on all systems at logout. This makes sure that every system is ready for imaging at any time. Second policy runs the silent erase and install from the installer, and is only available after the installer is present. ["/Applications/Install macOS Mojave.app/Contents/Resources/startosinstall" --eraseinstall --newvolumename "Macintosh HD" --agreetolicense]

We do make the second policy available in Self Service as well, but its primary use around here is to wipe returned systems.

MBrownUoG
Contributor

Thanks for the reply.