Mojave Deployment and Configuration - using JAMF and DEPNotify

ICT-JPC
New Contributor III

Afternoon,

I am very new to the academic enterprise Mac world, along with JAMF, related products and scripting. Between various sources - JAMFNation, MacAdmins - Slack, Google, Github, YouTube and various online blogs my mind is blown!

I am part of a University that are wanting to:
Over the summer to update our existing Lab based Macs to Mojave
Improve/better utilise the existing DEP solution for new devices - Labs and Staff

We have a mixture of multiboot devices, single boot devices and will soon be obtaining a number of brand new Macs.

From everything I have looked at, read and watched, it would suggest the previous method of 'imaging', which has been used here previously without issue, is no longer an option. There is also the new T2 chip and security features Apple have brought in.

We have manually been able to create:
A working Mojave clean installation via Self Service, after manually converting the HFS drive to APFS. A copy of Mojave installer is download and run.
A policy that allows us to rename devices with manual input, so they comply with the existing naming convention
* A script that allows us to partition the drives for our multiboot option, that utilises APFS