Help with NoMAD Login.

dmitchell
Contributor

I decided to take a stab at NoMAD Login because I am sick of binding but I am having all sorts of little issues

The initial machines I tested on, I manually installed the package and ran the script after, worked great, I could login with AD accounts on the machine, it made mobile accounts local for already created mobile accounts.

I am having an issue with parameters in the script (I am not very good with these kinds of scripts so bare with me :D)

CreateAdminIfGroupMember=<"Domain Admins", "WorkstationAdmins"> - Get a syntax error, probably the < right? and is the second part correct? defaults write /Library/Preferences/menu.nomad.login.ad.plist CreateAdminIfGroupMember "$CreateAdminIfGroupMember"

Also does anyone know who to create a smart group that can show machines that have NoMAD?

6 REPLIES 6

Hugonaut
Valued Contributor II

try using profile creator instead of utilizing a script - my script was flawless but it was inconsistent upon deployment. some machines worked miracles, some caused headaches. nothing different, just for whatever reason some stuff didnt work. deploying .mobileconfig works 110% everytime vs. script.

you can config nomad login with profile creator and make a .mobileconfig upload it to jamf and deploy it as a configuration profile

https://github.com/erikberglund/ProfileCreator

second, you will want to use an extension attribute to detect if nomad login is installed, then create a smart group targeting that extension attribute.

https://www.jamf.com/jamf-nation/discussions/29438/nomad-login+-and-nomad-pro-jamf-extension-attribu...

Virtual MacAdmins Monthly Meetup - First Friday, Every Month

dmitchell
Contributor

@Hugonaut unrelated to my original Q but somewhat related, I am having a hard time finding info, does NoMAD Login not update AD or AD not update the account on the Mac for a password change? I thought that was kind of the whole point aside from no binding.

marklamont