iPads in Enterprise - Multiple users

gbunner
New Contributor III

We have a handful of iPads in our IT department that are intended to be used by multiple users when they go out into the field (internally). Mostly they will be checking on and updating tickets in out ticketing system.

They are supervised DEP devices enrolled into JAMF. They are essential configure as a single generic user with a password. Has anyone configured and used iPads in a corporate environment using the shared iPad configuration like you would in a school? If so, how are you doing it? would I create a managed Apple I.D for each user?

I'm trying to avoid users having access to other peoples information on a shared device if they don't log out of the ticketing system after they use the device.

Thanks!
Gene

8 REPLIES 8

RLR
Valued Contributor

I work in a school but we have a couple of shared mode iPads for specific staff departments. They're setup as shared iPads for the staff that are going to be using them. Each user will need their own Managed Apple ID which they sign into on the device. You can then create a "Class" in jamf with those users in and attach that class to the iPads.

Edit: You may want to check the iPads are compatible with Shared iPad mode first here

gbunner
New Contributor III

Thanks for your reply! My iPads are compatible with Shared iPad mode, but after working with JAMF support, I've discovered that I am unable to put an iPad into shared iPad mode and utilize classes without Apple School Manager. I'm not sure if I can sign up for School Manager to utilize some of the features, even though I'm not a school? I guess I'll have to ping Apple about that, but I doubt I'll be able to.

Tribruin
Valued Contributor II