Updating a Smart Group criteria From the API

Lotusshaney
Contributor II

Hi All,

Im quite new to Casper, only been using it for a little over 3 weeks but so far impressed.

Im looking to build a 3rd party Auto software updater for small apps like Skype etc. Now I have all of that done, my script downloads the current version, compares it to the installed one on our deployment and if it's newer replace it in a storage folder.

What I want to do is now force that out using Self Service or a policy. My idea was to use a smart group so that is does a check for Skype.app and check it's version number with a value I want to inject in from the script I have written. Then the users with outdated versions could Self Serve or I could force the update out.

I tried updating the MYSQL back end, and though the version number could easily be changed the JSS did not see my update. JAMF said the official way to access the database is via the API.

I've looked but I cant see a way of updating the smart group criteria from the API.

Any Ideas ?

Dan

7 REPLIES 7

rockpapergoat
Contributor III

unrelated to your question, but it sounds like you should check out munki. it does everything you mentioned, minus the casper API interaction.

http://code.google.com/p/munki/

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

I don't know much about Munki (and only a little more about the Casper API for that matter) but I do know that first you need to either create an account or modify an existing one on your JSS with appropriate API Privileges. It could be an existing one, but I think best practice is to set up a separate API account that doesn't have access to the JSS GUI. Make sure that at least "Read" and "Update" are checked for the Computer Groups row. You may need Create and Delete too.