Deploy Packages Based on AD Group Membership?

frank
New Contributor III

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the world of Casper and have setup a trial of 8.6 while I wait for the product to be purchased at work. I've setup policies and smart-groups and have linked the LDAP Server Connections to our internal AD server which works fine for delegating permissions to who has access to the web portal of Casper.

Question is how do I go about setting up a package to deploy to a end user based on the computer object being part of a AD group? All Mac's are bound to AD and i'd like to replicate the way we deploy packages on windows with Casper for Mac users.

The idea behind this is that our service desk reps only need to add computer objects to defined security groups in AD for the application to be deployed. This is how it's currently setup for our windows users and it works well.

The Self Service portal will be expanded in future but for now we are only going to host printers and possibly some freeware apps while we manage package deployment for licensed via AD groups.

I tried creating a smart group but it only allows me to define attributes based on inventory data (MAC address, hostname, CPU type...) where what I really need is to able for it to link to a AD security group and deploy based on the hostname membership as it will be the same hostname in AD as it is in Casper.

Is this possible or does AD integration only extend to delegating permission to Casper's web portal only?

Regards,

Frank

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

talkingmoose

I don't think the JSS has any way of directly bringing in security groups from Active Directory for anything other than users. I may be wrong and someone may correct me on this.