Help pushing a System Prefrence not contained in any Casper template.

Paul_Price1
New Contributor

First off thanks much to all who participate in this forum. Its a valuable resource and has saved my bacon several times.
I am fairly new to the Mac platform (1 year) and recently passed my CCA. I know enough to be dangerous.

What process and tools do you admins use when you have a need to push a system preference that is not part of one of Casper's Templates or Configuration Profiles. (That is my "teach me how to fish question")

I am trying to package and distribute a setting that is found at [System Preferences, Keyboard, keyboard Shortcuts, uncheck everything under Mission Control]. (This is my "catch the fish for me" question) This is a required setting for the MN Secure Browser testing software we use in our school district here.

Thanks in advance for any help and my apologies if this is covered in another thread that my keywords did not uncover yet.

Paul

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Hi Paul,
When you say "need to push a system preference that is not part of one of Casper's Templates or Configuration Profiles." are you talking about a PreferencePane or do you actually mean something like a preference setting? As in an MCX setting?

If you mean a preference setting and not an actual Preference Pane, (which I assume is what you mean) we are currently still using only MCX, not Configuration Profiles here, though I suspect we will need to take the dive into those sooner rather than later.
As for figuring out how to set up a custom setting not part of the JSS template, first thing I do is use Google. Seriously, almost everything you may want to set is already out there or in the very least there are threads where someone is asking the same question and someone has answered it (if its possible to do).