FEU for application updates

kirkd
New Contributor II

I am new to Casper and I am having trouble understanding how to update existing applications without overwriting the existing settings, which would be catastrophic. I understand that FUT simply fills the user template, english.lproj, and FEU fills the user directories on the target computer with all settings. Here is my dilemma:
FEU works great when installing an application for the first time, all the tweaks and settings I made before packaging in composer carry over beautifully. If I use the same package, with FEU selected, to update an existing application it will overwrite all settings. This would be tragic with browser bookmarks for example. can someone give me advice on this?

6 REPLIES 6

daz_wallace
Contributor III

Hi Kirkd,

It's always a sticky situation and I can see two main methods to deal with it:

1) Management, These settings you want configured, could they be set using MCXs and / or Configuration Profiles?

2) plist entries, using either 'defaults write' or 'plistbuddy' to manually set the preferences you need. You'd have to package it within a script to check for existing homes and loop through setting this but I believe there are examples within these forums.

As always test it fully before pushing it out site-wide.....then test it again to make doubly sure.

Darren

kirkd
New Contributor II

Hi Daz, thanks for the reply. During the jumpstart I was trained to start Composer, configure the application as you like, and take a snapshot. I see now that this is not a good option since it is very possible to overwrite existing application settings during an application update. I am not familiar with the workflow you mentioned in step 2. I will have to look into it.

kirkd
New Contributor II