Java Updates

luke_j_nelson
New Contributor II
16 REPLIES 16

aamjohns
Contributor II

Thank you for the post Luke.

Would you like to help a noob? Unfortunately I'm really a Windows expert. But I have been designated our Casper Administrator. We just purchased and I am setting up. I made an image. A clean OS image.

We have Symantec here and I tried installing that as a package but got an error that Java needed to be installed. So I started investigating that yesterday and I have not really got a gripe on this yet. For a clean OS, do I just deploy the Java 7 update 21 and be done? Or do I need to do more? Also, once I've deployed Java, will the SUS service keep it updated? Or ugh...this is where I get confused. Not only that, I test a Java package last night of 7-21, it ran but the Mac acts like it does not have Java. Any advice for me?

sgrall
New Contributor III

@aamjohns Symantec officially supports Java 6 SE (Apple's Java) with Symantec Endpoint. The latest version of Java 6 available for 10.7 and 10.8 is here: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5682

If you wish to install Java 7 instead, note that it's not officially supported by Symantec, and you'll need to obtain the Java 7 JDK, not the SDK. See this site to download: http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jdk7-downloads-1880260.html

aamjohns
Contributor II

Thank you for that information. You are saving me much time.

Can I ask you something?

This update uninstalls the Apple-provided Java applet plug-in from all web browsers. To use applets on a web page, click on the region labeled "Missing plug-in" to go download the latest version of the Java applet plug-in from Oracle.

We run in a least privilege environment. So if my user needs the plug-in, how do you handle that? Since they are user level the should not be able to install. Do you face this issue in your environment? Do you package the plug-in?
Sorry for my ignorance.

Aaron.

sgrall
New Contributor III