SPSS21 deployment package for Mac OS X 7 and 8 (site license)

kurniw
New Contributor

Hi everyone, I am a newbie here (just took CCA a couple weeks ago) and still learning how to script as well.
I am wondering if you can suggest the best way to deploy SPSS21 on the Mac. I have been following the suggestion by the IBM SPSS by using the silent install dmg and just run it using sudo ./*.bin and I was able to put the .bin and .properties of the silent install pkg under /Users/ and deploy it via policy and then run a script to install it and plan to write another script to remove .bin and .properties after successful installation. However, I run into problem when I tried to run the licenseactivator (under SPSS.app/Contents/bin) with the site license that I have saying that java can't open it. If I double click the licenseactivator.jar then I am able to activate the license. But when I try to check by clicking the license activation wizard then it would just give me a blank window.
Any ideas? Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

mattosaur4
New Contributor II

I've just setup SPSS 22 in JSS. To clarify I used rhys steps with some changes, as below:

Downloaded a silent installer from the IBM portal. This contains SPSS_Statistics_Installer.bin and installer.properties.

Edit the installer.properties file (remove the # comment markers & add details) to include whether you're doing a site or network license install - your serial goes in here too. (remove the ###)

The .bin and .properties files get placed into a holding area, I used /Library/Application Support/SPSS22-TEMP/. This folder is dragged into Composer and captured as a .dmg.