Script to Copy preference file to all users profiles and to the default template

rky
New Contributor

I have build a package using Apple PackageMaker, this will install an application and a preference (plist) file to the current logged in user. Now I wanted to add a post-flight script to the package, which can copy the same plist (for ex: com.test.plist) form the current logged in user to other user account on a machine also to the default user template (/System/Library/user template/...../Library/preferences) so any new user account created will have same preference file copied.
I am new to scripting on Macs, please help in scripting the task.

Thank You

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Hi.

So looking at the script from the link I posted, I see that the method used is kind of old and isn't really addressing just copying a single plist, more to copy an entire folder of settings, so there are much better methods to get a plist down to all accounts.

Ideally, what you want to do is place the plist file into something like a /private/tmp/ location or /private/var/plist or some such rather than into a specific account, and then copy from the tmp location to all local accounts. But, if you're certain the admin user exists on your machines and its always going to be a valid location to copy the plist from, you can do something like this.

#!/bin/sh

localUsers=$( dscl . list /Users UniqueID | awk '$2 >= 501 {print $1}' | grep -v admin )

for userName in "$localUsers"; do
     cp /Users/admin/Library/Preferences/org.mypreference.plist /Users/$userName/Library/Preferences/
     chown $userName /Users/$userName/Library/Preferences/org.mypreference.plist
     cp /Users/admin/Library/Preferences/org.mypreference.plist /System/Library/User Template/English.lproj/Library/Preferences/
done