MacBooks randomly becoming unmanaged

spowell01
Contributor

Hey everyone, we have had an odd ongoing issue for a little while now and it seems to be getting worse lately. Random MacBooks are becoming unmanaged and we have to run the quick add package in order to bring them back under management. These are machines that have been managed for any period of time, some months and others just weeks. Just had about 4 students bring their laptops in because they were unable to install firefox from self service. It was giving the message that the machine was not managed and they should run a local recon. Obviously recon does not work since it won't recognize any jamf commands. We are now on JSS 9.21 but have seen the issue in previous versions as well. Anyone else dealing with something like this?

27 REPLIES 27

scottb
Honored Contributor

Are they admin's on the Macs? If so, it would take 2 minutes on google to figure out how to "sudo jamf removeFramework".
I'm new to Casper, but I imagine there's been a bunch of solutions to things like this. Our problem is we allow all users to be admins and some of them are smart enough to turn this stuff off or just delete it.

Are there any remaining bits of the jamf software/binary on those Macs? Because broken and removed are different issues.

spowell01
Contributor

well i would say 80% of the time this occurs on student machines( mainly because we have way more of them). Our students are not administrators and would not be able to unmanage via terminal. Our teachers are full admins, but I'm very confident that the teachers are not manually removing the jamf framework, and thus requiring them to walk down to our office for a fix. I'll have to dig a bit deeper on the next example mac i have as far as the remaining framework....I say unmanaged because thats what the JSS states for the computer records. Self service remains in the dock, and i would imagine when removing the framework, self service goes along with it.

mm2270