Check My Work, script isn't working

BuddyBrett
New Contributor

Hey All,

I'm working on a script that deletes the Adobe Media Cache. If you work with Adobe at enterprise level, then you know what a mess this thing causes. Basically all I am trying to is delete two folders in the users library location. I have the script working when run locally, but will not work when ran from remote, or via a policy. As a side note, I am a workstation tech with a producing background, and fairly new to scripting. Please be gentle :) Any help would be greatly appreciated. Contents of the script below.

!/bin/sh

Cache Buster.sh

Created by Brett Ramker on 7/6/15.

RM -r /Users/$USER/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Common/Media Cache/
RM -r /Users/$USER/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Common/Media Cache Files/**

7 REPLIES 7

emily
Valued Contributor III
Valued Contributor III

Any chance you can re-post using the forum formatting to get a better idea of the formatting?

How are you defining $USER?

BuddyBrett
New Contributor

Yea sure!

My understanding was that if you use $USER, OS X will plug in the current logged in user.

emily
Valued Contributor III
Valued Contributor III

So when you run it as you, locally, it knows that you are $USER. But I believe if you're trying to automate this you'll need to define $USER.

Something like:

USER=`ls -l /dev/console | cut -d " " -f 4`

BuddyBrett
New Contributor

That worked, thanks so much!

emily
Valued Contributor III
Valued Contributor III

Sure thing!

Don't forget to mark a post as an answer so people know you got the help you needed. :)

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

EDIT: I'll leave my post below just in case, but it looks like you're all set!