Mapping personal network home drives

Anthony_power
New Contributor

Hello JAMF Nation Friends, I am a new administrator to the mac environment. I'm Looking to achieve a script that can be deployed or placed on a user's desktop that will map network drives and their personal home drive. The only issue i'm facing is that our windows infrastructure deploys our network drives and their personal network drive by log in vbscript. ( active directory home flied is blank ).

My question is, is it possible to deploy the user's personal home drive with the script calling for their active directory username e.g. smb:serverfolder%username% and what would be the best way to deploy the script so user's can run themselves.

Thank you in advance for all your help.

3 REPLIES 3

ShaunRMiller83
Contributor III

I use a modified version of this script.

I have added a variable for UID. Which I use in a ifelse statement. You can use this to map basically any network volume.

For user home drive mapping I have a policy set to run at login for users. Which defines variables $4 - $6. I use the same (or a slightly modified version of this script) to mount other network drive mappings with the variables ($4 - $6) defined for those network volumes. I clone those policies and make them available in Casper Self Service if for some reason a user needs to initiate them volume mount themselves.

My script looks like:

#!/bin/sh

UID1=$(id -u $3)
    echo "UID: $UID1"
protocol="$4" # This is the protocol to connect with (afp | smb)
    echo "Protocol: $4"
serverName="$5"   # This is the address of the server, e.g. my.fileserver.com
    echo "Server: $5"
shareName="$6"    # This is the name of the share to mount
    echo "Sharename: $6"

if [[ "$UID1" -ge 1000 ]]; 
    then echo "User "$3" is an Active Directory account"
      # Mount the drive 
        mount_script=`/usr/bin/osascript  > /dev/null << EOT
        tell application "Finder" 
        activate