Prevent manually adding Office 365 mail unless via Casper MDM

danseals
New Contributor II

I am just starting out with using Casper and I did some searches and wasn't able to find an answer, please let me know if I missed something.

Currently, when an iOS device is enrolled via Casper, it automatically pushes a Exchange profile to the user, and adds mail to their device. If they delete MDM, mail goes with it. That seems standard.

Now, is there a way to somehow prevent a user from adding their Office 365 account to a device that is not managed by Casper MDM? In my mind I'm thinking either a certificate, or admin credentials that get passed with the Exchange profile on Casper, so that without those, a user attempting to manually add the Office 365 account to their device would be stopped.

Thanks for your help!

10 REPLIES 10

bpavlov
Honored Contributor

Someone asked a similar question recently on slack. They wanted to prevent users using Mail instead of Outlook. Someone mentioned you can block mail clients via user agents which is pretty neat. I don't know more than what I read but perhaps that might give you ideas on how to tackle it. Perhaps if you had a way to take a list of users who are enrolled in the jss and then somehow export via the api into an AD group and then make exceptions so that only those specific users can connect to Mail on iOS. This would all run on a server somewhere at whatever interval you determine is appropriate. I'm probably thinking of this the wrong way tho. A certificate might work too like you mentioned. Curious to know what you learn.

Edit: I'm on mobile otherwise id link you to the conversation on Slack but it was asked today if you are inclined to search the Microsoft office channel on there.

danseals
New Contributor II