Sourcing a script library file

thebrucecarter
Contributor II

This may seem like a naive question (and probably is) but how do I do the equivalent of sourcing a bash script library from within Jamf Pro? I have a file with a few common routines that several of our scripts use, and it would be nice to keep that structure intact instead of duplicating code all over the place. Do I just package the library up and drop it someplace (right now it resides in /usr/local/bin/ND/ on our systems) and then just source it like normal from the scripts that are executed by Jamf Pro policies? I'm new at the scripting part of Jamf (although I've been doing bash scripts for a while now) and I'm not sure what the best practice here is.

1 REPLY 1

tlarkin
Honored Contributor

You will need to deploy your code locally, or have something curl it down from jamf (which is doable but also a bit of a rube goldberg workflow with pure jamf). The big thing there is how do you version control it, and deploy your local code base. I had a feature request for local code base, but I am not seeing it on my public jamf nation profile. So, I probably filed that FR when worked at jamf and it is internal. I can ask some jamf people if they can convert it (if it still exists) and make it public.

How you do this is simple from a code perspective:

bash example

#!/bin/bash

# source file to pull in functions
source /usr/local/tlark/codebase/mycode.sh

Python you would import a module, Ruby you would import a Gem, etc, etc

That is it, once that is sourced the shell will read that entire script into memory and you can use it. I did a presentation on this at a Macbrained event back in like 2013 or something with examples of how to reuse bash code. I do not think it was filmed, but if I can find the slide deck I can share (that is a huge maybe if I still have it).